The Djiboutian franc (فرنك‎‎) is the currency of Djibouti

Its ISO 4217 currency code is DJF.
Historically, it was subdivided into 100 centimes.

From 1884, when the French Somaliland protectorate was established, the French franc circulated alongside the Indian rupee and the Maria Theresa thaler. 
From 1908, francs in Djibouti were legally fixed at the value of the French franc.
Starting in 1910, banknotes were issued for the then colony by the Bank of Indochina.
Chamber of Commerce paper money and tokens were issued between 1919 and 1922.
In 1948, the first coins were issued for use in Djibouti, in the name of the "Côte Française des Somalis".
 In 1949, an independent Djiboutian franc came into being when the local currency was pegged to the US dollar at a rate of 214.392 francs = 1 dollar.
This was the value which the French franc had had under the Bretton Woods system until a few months before.
Consequently, the Djiboutian economy was not affected by the further devaluations of the French franc.
In 1952, the Public Treasury took over the production of paper money. French Somalilands change of name in 1967 to the French Territory of the Afars and the Issas was reflected on notes.
In 1971 and 1973, the franc was revalued against the US dollar, first to a rate of 197.466 to the dollar, then 177.721, a rate which has been maintained ever since. A further change in coin and banknote design followed independence in 1977.

Currently, the most popular Djibouti Franc exchange rate is the DJF to EUR rate.

Top DJF Exchange Rates


1 DJF 0.005010.005620.020630.004520.048420.374050.007473.289030.12525
Inverse: 199.438178.05048.4734221.39820.65352.67347133.9170.304047.98430

Central Bank: Central Bank of Djibouti
Currency Subunits
  • Centime = 1/100 of a Franc
  • Bills: 1,000, 2,000, 5,000, 10,000 Fdj
  • Coins: 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 500 Fdj