French Somaliland is a former country colony of France in Africa, now called Djibouti.

French Somaliland was established between 1883 and 1887, after the ruling Somali and Afar sultans signed the land away in various treaties with the French.
In 1862, France purchased the moorage of Obock from the Danakil chiefs.
Obock (also Obok, Ubuk) is a small port town, located on the northern shore of the Gulf of Tadjoura.
At the same time a protectorate was established over the sultanates of Tajura and Gobad  and the area that is now Djibouti  was ceded by the United Kingdom. 
In 1896, all these territories were merged to form the colony of the French Somalis Coast (Côte française des Somalis). 
Here Somalis has to be understood as the name of a people and not of a geographical area of Somalia, which is Somalie in French, or Somaliland.  

In 1946, the reform of the French overseas possessions made of the colony an overseas territory (territoire doutre-mer) called Territoire français des Afars et des Issas, which gained an autonomous status in 1957 and independence in 1977 as the Republic of Djibouti. However, France still maintains a lot of troops there.

Prior to independence, the French tricolore would have been used as the national flag. 

In addition there would have been the colonial Governors flag. 

This is a square blue field with the French national flag in canton and a swallow tail in the fly. 

French Somaliland was renamed the French Territory of the Afars and the Issas and, in 1977 became the independent country of Djibouti.